Tuesday, June 09, 2009

MCC artist grants announced

The Massachusetts Cultural Council has named the winners of its 2009 artists fellowships. Fellows each receive $10,000. Finalists get $1,000 each.

Crafts fellows:
Janet Echelman
Christopher S. Gustin
Robbie Heidinger
Tricia Lachowiec Harding
Elizabeth Whyte Schulze
Crafts finalists:
Michael Banner and Maureen Banner
Andela Cunningham
Heather White van Stolk
Joe Wood

Film and video fellows:
Claire Andrade-Watkins
Alla Kovgan
Rebecca Meyers
Abraham Ravett
Jonathan Schwartz
Film and video finalists:
Lisa Olivieri
Christian Pierce and Steffen Pierce
Jeff Daniel Silva
Robert Todd

Photography fellows:
Eric Gottesman
Heyward Hart
Eirik Johnson
Robert Lewis
Camilo Ramirez
Vaughn Sills
Joshua Winer
Photography finalists:
David Prifti
Irina Rozovsky

Sculpture and installation fellows:
Alicia Casilio, Kelley Casilio, Sarah Casilio and Cary Wolinsky
Janet Echelman (she was named a fellow in two categories, but only gets one grant)
Christopher Frost
Niho Kozuru
Greg Mencoff
Nathalie Miebach
Amy Podmore
Patricia Shannon
Rachel Perry Welty
Sculpture and installation finalists:
Sarah Braman
Matthew Rich


Blogger martha m said...

Zero painting fellows? Uhoh.

June 9, 2009 at 8:30 PM  
Blogger Greg Cook said...

Nothing to worry about regarding painting fellows. The grant categories alternate each year. Painting, drawing and traditional arts grants will be awarded in 2010.

June 9, 2009 at 10:29 PM  
Blogger martha m said...

Phew. I heard painting was dead, you know, and I was afraid it was truer than I'd thought.

But hurray! I am not yet quaint!

June 10, 2009 at 8:19 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home