Wednesday, May 16, 2007

Artadia grant winners announced

Congratulations to the ten winners of the inaugural round of Artadia foundation grants for Boston-area artists, which were announced yesterday.

The big winners are Helen Mirra, the collective The National Bitter Melon Council and Mary Ellen Strom, who will each receive $15,000. Hannah Barrett, Gerry Bergstein, Xiaowei Chen, Jane Marsching, John Osorio-Buck, Vaughn Sills and Stephen Tourlentes will each receive $1,500.

The 10-year-old Artadia foundation has given grants to Houston, San Francisco and Chicago artists, but this is the first time the New York-based organization has awarded grants to Boston-area artists. The winners were chosen from nearly 700 applicants by Pieranna Cavalchini, curator of contemporary art at Boston’s Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum; Michael Darling, contemporary curator of the Seattle Art Museum; and Rene de Guzman, visual arts curator of San Francisco’s Yerba Buena Center for the Arts.

Laura Donaldson, director of the Boston Center for the Art’ Mills Gallery, is scheduled to curate and present an exhibition of the winning artists’ work during the summer of 2008. And an illustrated catalogue of the stuff will be published.


Post a Comment

<< Home