Wednesday, January 27, 2010

ICA Foster Prize finalists announced

Boston's Institute of Contemporary Art has announced nine finalists for its 2010 James and Audrey Foster Prize: Robert de St. Phalle, Eirik Johnson, Fred Liang, Rebecca Meyers, Matthew Rich, Daniela Rivera, Evelyn Rydz, Amie Siegel and Steve Tourlentes.

The biennial prize exhibition, which is being expanded from four finalists to nine this year, recognizes "Boston-area artists of exceptional promise." It will run at ICA from Sept. 22, 2010, to Jan. 30, 2011. One artist will win the $25,000 prize. The winner is expected to be announced in January 2011.

Pictured from top to bottom:
Steve Tourlentes, "Fallsburg, NY State Prison," 2009, digital pigment print; Amie Siegel, stills compilation from "My Way 1," 2009, video, 9 minutes, color/sound; Evelyn Rydz, "Blue Foam with Barnacles," 2009, graphite and color pencil on Duralar, 11 x 14 inches; Matthew Rich, "Combination," 2009, latex paint on cut paper, linen tape, 31 x 58.5 inches, image courtesy of the artist and samson; Robert de St. Phalle, "Lean To," 2007, fiberglass rock prop with wood framing, daylight fluorescent bulb, wiring, 8 x 4 x 4 feet; Eirik Johnson, "Early Morning Rain Breaks in Palm Grove, Blanquillo," 13.20 minutes exposure, 2008-2009, led light box with synchronized stereo audio recording.


Post a Comment

<< Home